Nirmala Sitharaman is the first women finance minister of India

Nirmala Sitharaman is the first women finance minister of India

The BJP-led NDA came back to the government with a huge majority of 352 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP itself has won 303 seats without any alliance.

Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister for the 2nd term, in the presence of 8,000 guests which include eminent world leaders, dignitaries, politicians, celebrities, and industrialists, in the swearing-in ceremony, held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, on 30th May 2019, Thursday. 24 MPs were sworn in as Cabinet ministers in the new Modi government, and the allocation of ministry to the sworn in members of the Council of Ministers showed a juggle in the ministries in the new government.

Nirmala Sitharaman, who served as the full-time Defence Minister of India in the Narendra Modi government from September 2017 to May 2019, has been appointed as the new finance minister in this 2nd term of the Modi Government.  Nirmala Sitharaman is the first woman finance minister; however, Indira Gandhi held the finance department when she was the prime minister in 1970-71.

In the previous Modi Government, from 2014 till May 2019, Arun Jaitley one of the senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader had served as the finance minister. Nirmala Sitharaman now will step into the shoes of the former Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley who opted out of the ministerial position in the new government on health grounds. The Finance and Corporate Affairs ministry thus is now allocated to Nirmala Sitharaman, while Anurag Thakur, a first timer would serve as the MoS in Finance Ministry in the Modi government.


eStartIndia Team

Leave a Comment

Previous Comments

Related Blogs